Dr. G. Parameshwara

Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister,
Hon'ble Minister for IT and BT, Science and Technology

No.273, 15th Main, Sadashivanagar,

R.M.V Extension, Bangalore-560 080

Phone:080-23610647, 080-23615127

Cell: 96111-34424 E-mail: dr-gparam@yahoo.com




Deputy Chief Minister Govt of Karnataka.

[Home, Bangalore Development, Youth Empowerment & Sports Portfolios ]



Son of Shikshana Bhishma Late Sri.H.M.Gangadharaiah, Ex-MLC & Late Smt.Gangamalamma


Date of  Birth



Permanent Address

Siddarthanagar, Tumkur, Karnataka

Phone: 0816-2206457/2201073


Present Address

No.273, 15th Main, Sadashivanagar,

R.M.V Extension, Bangalore-560 080



Cell: 96111-34424

E-mail: dr-gparam@yahoo.com





Present Position

Deputy Chief Minister Govt. of Karnataka

Chairman, Athletic Association, Karnataka

Vice President, Athletic Federation of India


Served in Position
  • Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly from Madhugiri Assembly Constituency, 1989,1999, 2004 from Koratagere Assembly Constituency, 2008
  • Minister for Sericulture, Govt. of Karnataka from 1993 to 1994
  • 1999 MLA Election won from MADHUGIRI Assembly Constituency by highest margin in the state
  • Minister for Higher Education, Science and Technology and Medical Education (Cabinet Rank)
  • Minister incharge of Tumkur District for Developments
  • Minister for Information, Govt of Karnataka
  • Minister for Department of Home
  • Member National Council on Serva Shiksha Abhiyan, Govt of India.


Position in Party
  • Joint Secretary, KPCC (I) 1989-92
  • General Secretary,  KPCC (I) 1992-97
  • Vice-President, KPCC(I) 1997-99
  • Member of AICC
  • Special Invitee Congress Working Committee, New Delhi-2007
  • Member, Manifesto Committee, AICC
  • Member, Training Department, AICC
  • Member, Committee to look into the future Challenges and opportunities, AICC
  • Chairman Campaign Committee, KPCC
  • President, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (from 29.10.2010)






  • B.Sc., (Agri.) 1975 from UAS, Bangalore
  • M.Sc., (Agri) 1978 from UAS, Bangalore
  • Ph.D., 1984, Waite Agricultural Research Institute, University of Adelaide, Australia


  • Member, Australian Society of Plant Physiology
  • Member, Indian Society of Plant Physiology
  • Member, Indian Society of Agricultural Science.


Honorary Appointment
  • Former Member, Board of Regent, University of Agriculture Science, Bangalore
  • Chairman, Sri Siddhartha Education/ Charitable Trust, Siddarthanagara, Tumkuru
  • Chairman Board of Management Sri Siddhartha University
  • Former Member, Karnataka Library Authority
  • Former Member, Committee on Open University
  • Former Member, Price Fixation Committee on Agriculture


  • Fellow of the Indian Institute of Agricultural Technologists
  • Life Member, Indian Society of Technical Education


Countries Visited
  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • Holland
  • Germany
  • Switzerland
  • France
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Hong Kong
  • Nepal
  • Dubai & China
  • Austria
  • Newzealand